brainmemorymaps.com


Terrorism. -:- Downloads. -:- Aging.

Promote. -:- Donate. -:- Reviews.

Employment. -:- Contact.

Linkedin. -:- Twitter.

Home.


Book Reviews.

The Author Anthony W Johns.

A Picture Of The Author.


Book Reviews Of The Book The "Brain Natures Own Computer."

Notes From The Author.


Although my book is a science book it is created with prose for the lay reader and children down to the age of twelve to easily understand, the book being illustrated with easy to understand graphs and tables.

I have also recruited lay public reviewers using social networking sites, references, Linkedin and Twitter. I also used Booktasters a company that for a small fee uses ordinary members of the public to view and review new books. None of these reviews have been biased by Book Tasters or the author.

The main objective of getting reviews from the lay public, this is who my book is aimed at: is to assess all the criticisms, rectify all the faults and update the book accordingly.


The best review is review nine by Alejandro Nitsch a Medical Doctor Twitter Handle @tenkaivanish his closing comment is "I think this book deserves to be published and even studied in medicine schools around the world. I'm grateful for the opportunity of reading and reviewing it."


Review One.


Review One Continued.


Review Two.


Review Three.


Review Four.


Review Five.


Review Six.

This review was published by Amazon, the reviewer is a Mr. Pete Wilkinson. Pete gave a very favorable review of my book and Pete awarded my book four out of five stars in his review.


5 star 	
	0
4 star 	
	1
3 star 	
	0
2 star 	
	0
1 star 	
	0
	
By Pete Wilkinson on 26 Sept. 2016

For me this was an interesting read. I have had some experience of
some the issues the book discusses. The book is aimed at the lay
reader and uses very straight forward language. The author
talks a lot about his own life and beliefs.

The author had a nervous breakdown in 1988 or Serious Neural Corruption
as he calls it. This led him to study the brain and how it works.

I am not sure I agree with all his conclusions, for example he argues
that being different can lead to bullying and then to mental illness,
sometimes adverse environmental conditions can make a person stronger
and not weaker it depends on the character of the person.

Although the author has tried to write the book to appeal to the
masses I am not sure it would. However, I admire his attempt to
simplify the subject. Worth a look if you are interested in how the
brain works.

The Amazon Review

Review Seven.

This reviewer is Elisabeth Carey, Twitter handle @ElisabethCarey Elisabeth is a very professional reviewer, a reference librarian with experience in legal, biotech, academic libraries. Elizabeth manages a blog, this is where my book review is also published.

The Elisabeth Carey Review.

This book review is also published by Goodreads , the Goodreads full Elisabeth Carey review is published - here .


Review Eight.

This reviewer is Mikah Slatter, Twitter handle @MikahSlatter


     -------- Original Message --------
     Subject: Book Review
     From: Mikah Slatter 
     Date: Mon, December 05, 2016 9:26 am
     To: manager@brainmemorymaps.com
     

Hello!

I have attached a link to my review of your book to this email. I just wanted to say I really enjoyed it and would love to read anything else you've written! Thank you!

-Mikah Slatter

"Anthony Johns writes a tremendously simple book about a topic that most people spend thousands of dollars over decades studying: the brain. His book tells explains the brain as "Nature's own computer," and all of the chapters carry this theme. He spends a lot of time addressing mental illness and the probable causes of it in our society.

The book also discusses religion and evolution and how both worldviews play a part in our mental state. Overall, I would venture to say that I learned more about how the human brain works from this book than any science class I ever took (but I was never that great at science). It's a great read that addresses all of the questions the brain asks about itself."


Review Nine.

This reviewer is medical doctor, Twitter Handle @tenkaivanish


Forwarded: Book Review, Alejandro Nitsch

Hello, Dr. Johns! I hope you're doing great!

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Alejandro Nitsch 
Date: 2016-11-27 0:14 GMT-06:00
Subject: Book Review
To: manager@brainmemorymaps.com


Hi, Mr. Johns!

Please excuse my being late on handing the review.
Thank you again for the wonderful opportunity to read and review 
your book.

_________________________________

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest
review via BookTasters.

Mr. Anthony Johns is a very kind and amiable person and is more than
qualified to write a book on the subject of Brain structure and 
function, both from personal experience and from hard work and
extensive research. I chose the book because of the subject and
my interest in medicine, neurobiology and psychology.
I am a medical doctor, amateur magician and student of Neuro-
Linguistic Programming.

His book "The Brain, Nature's Own Computer" is the product of
seventeen years of research and study. It is written in a plain style 
simple enough for children to understand. The file was created in
HTML4 and then transformed into a pdf file.

Every page has a sky-blue background color that makes it different
from every other book but probably has a positive influence in
the reader as it is not straining on the eyeseight. The language
and vocabulary employed make the contents understandable and
easy to follow.

The contents can be understood more easily if one takes into account
three factors:
1. The author is an electronics service and design engineer, which
influences the view on the brain as a biological machine.
It also influences the writing and typing style as some aspects
of structure and syntax have hints of computer programming language.

2. The author suffered a Serious Neural Corruption (nervous breakdown)
and after four years of treatment and hard work he was able to recover
from that - something that many people cannot accomplish on their own-
and this inspired him to write a book that focuses on explaining how
the brain works and inspiring people to overcome mental illness.

Some of the author's personal views (due to adverse personal
experiences) on subjects such as religion also influence the contents,
which will require an open mind from the reader in order to read
the book.

3. The book is product of seventeen years of intensive research and
numerous editing processes, which have led to a book written in a
simple language yet conveying deep truths and contents that can
change the way a person views the world.

Overall, the book has made me view the brain under a different light,
helping me in its study and application in everyday situations. 
It also helps in understandign people's behavior and motivation,
as well as facilitating some examples that can be used to explain
things like mood or emotions, among others.

The language and contents are easy to follow and explained in the
first chapter. After reading and learning the scientific facts and
separating opinion from proven fact, I was left with several thoughts
and ideas that people undergoing a Serious Neural Corruption can use
to overcome this predicament.

Some things like evolution and religion have caused and will always
cause controversy and conflict. Discretion and disposition are advised
for the reader to read and understand these contents.

I think this book deserves to be published and even studied in medicine
schools around the world. I'm grateful for the opportunity of reading
and reviewing it.

Thank you, Mr. Johns!

Best Regards

Alejandro Nitsch

Review Ten.

    From: Marina Ilic 
    Date: Mon, December 12, 2016 3:24 pm
    To: manager@brainmemorymaps.com
    Marinas Twitter Handle @ilic30_marina

    From Goodreads:
    A confession: I am a person who in her life has struggled with
    melancholy and depression and as a result I am passionate in
    studying human nature and mental health. I spent years studying
    what could help me and found solutions in everything from yoga
    to antidepressants to gingko biloba supplements.
    
    When booktasters offered me the chance to read this book for
    free in exchange for an honest review I took it.

    I am proud to report that Anthony Johns treats the human brain
    as nature's own computer. Like any laptop or personal computer 
    the human brain can break down and die or fall ill due to chemical
    imbalances and dysfunctions. Mr. Johns includes in his book
    examples of mental illnesses such as depression, dementia,
    and bipolar disorder and their causes in neurotransmitters
    and chemical imbalances in the human brain.
    
    He lists other factors that lead to the brain falling sick such
    as growing up in a dysfunctional home and enduring abuse and
    bullying in life. He lists the marks of a healthy person and
    a healthy society and notes that the U.S and U.K for the most
    part are actually failing to treat the rising tide of mental
    disorders!

    As a person who studies psychology I found this book extremely
    helpful and relevant to my own struggles with mental health.
    Let me be clear: as a person who is fascinated by psychology and
    mental health I found this book an absolutely necessary read.
    
    I am reading an entire series of books on mental health including
    books on Taoism, Buddhism, meditation, and brain health and as a
    part of that theme this book is a short and sweet scientific
    account of the brain as the organic computer of Mother Nature.

    Anthony Johns notes what can harm or kill the brain and contribute
    to mental illness, including enduring abuse, bullying, social
    isolation, and living in dysfunctional home. He categorizes the
    list of behaviors people manifest harming themselves and others.
    They include:

    1. Smoking, drug and alcohol abuse.
    2. Too much or too little food.
    3. Too much or too little sleep.
    4. Negative thinking that leads to self-defeat.
    5. Entertaining suicidal behavior.

    He notes that dysfunctional individuals are now increasing in
    number in the west and especially in the U.K and U.S. and they
    will wreck society with their violent behavior. Personally this
    already come to pass especially in American society where people
    have forgotten how to take care of themselves and their everyday
    occurrences of mass violence.
    
    The flip side are examples of functional and healthy behavior of
    people who have healthy brains. This book comes with charts and
    graphs which are useful for understanding scientific data.

    Anyone who is studying how to have a healthier brain should read
    this book as a part of their studies on the human brain.

    Highly recommended for everyone and especially if you have an
    interest in mental health.

    You are far far away from being alone in your struggle with mental
    illness because I am here fighting alongside you and everyone
    else.
    
    Sincerely,
    Marina    

Review Eleven.


4.0 out of 5 stars I Found It Fascinating, October 30, 2016

By CristiAk

This review is from: The Brain: Natures Own Computer. (Kindle Edition)

I was surprised by this book. I am very interested in the brain and
the whole how/why we think and do as we do. I was excited to read it
but also wary that it might be over my head. I am happy to report that
I was able to follow it very well. I both like and dislike this book.
I will give my reasons for liking it first.

I liked that I found it easy to read. I liked that I was able to find
a lot of useful and interesting things in it. There were a number of
things that I agree with. There were, also, some things that were new
to me. I appreciate the author using his personal experience to help
us. All of this worked for me.

What didn't work for me was that I felt the author wavered between
explaining things to an audience of children and an adult audience.
I didn't feel that he was entirely addressing one or the other, but
was going back and forth.

This was a bit difficult for me as, at times, I felt that I was being
spoken down to. I also did not care for, what felt to me, being hit
over the head with evolution. I understand that you choose not to
believe and I am fine with it. I am open minded about religion.
The author had a traumatic experience with religion and I personally
felt, at times, it played into his feelings on religion.

My verdict on this book is that there is a lot of useful information
in it. My favorite is the retraining of the brain. I absolutely
believe this will be important in mental health practices. A scientist
wrote this book so I was expecting that science would be heavily
represented.

The author does admit that religion has played an important role in
survival for many. I applaud that as I do find that some type of
religious belief does help many. I also found useful and interesting,
the author's view on love and mate selection. I would recommend people
to read it. It is fascinating and informative.

I came across this book from BookTasters. The author provided an
electronic copy for review purposes. As, I believe, this copy was not
a published version I cannot make an informed decision regarding
editing issues that were noted in the unpublished version I was given. 

I have no idea if the blue background was just on my copy or it is
used in the published version. I did not particularly care for it. 
I did not come across any reason for it so I am unsure why it was
used. I will not be using editing issues in my star rating decision.

Review Twelve.


This reviewer is James Thomas. Twitter Handle @Mister_E_Box

On 03/01/17 07:16, Anthony wrote:

Please give me an illustration, illustrations, of the techno-babble,
you are the first reviewer to highlight this. Kind Regards Anthony.
James replied 11/01/17 with further helpful comments, unfortunately
there was no reference to techno-babble illustrations


On 02/01/17 23:42, James wrote:
 
The Brain: Nature's Own Computer by Anthony Johns is a satisfactory
read for those who enjoy technical concepts without being familiar
with cognition or the brain in general.

The author has a background in computer sciences and personal
experience training his brain after a nervous breakdown in 1988. Since
that time, Johns has dedicated himself to the study and understanding
of the brain.

This book is essentially the research from that period and forward and
is aimed at a younger reading audience. How much younger? That is a
tricky question due to the inconsistent stylistic and technical
choices of the author. 

There were definitely sections I felt my nine-year-old son, with some
coaching on my part, would benefit greatly from and enjoy. There were
whole sections I was drowning in techno-babble.

Admittedly, I do not have a degree (or significant personal study) in
the nature of the brain, but if the aim was for the lay-person to be 
permitted to glimpse the cogs in the machine and come away edified,
there was some left to be desired.

I would have preferred that this book were a textbook in a class I
could attend. There were some spelling and grammar errors, which
Johns was honest about at the very beginning. I received a free e-copy
of this book for doing this review.

Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to read this book and for all
the hard work!

 - james 

Review Thirteen.


This reviewer is Manlei Santos. Twitter Handle @santeoni 

First of all, I didn't expect this book to please me the way it did. 
I thought it was only going to be another book about our brain,
with scientific arguments and all. But it was more than that.
It was an easy read. The book, as I progressed, showed to be
philosophical, scientific, instructive and very easy to read. 

Particularly, the writing style, meant to be accessible for everyone,
was another very positive point about the book. It is easy to
understand, for people that don't speak english in an advanced
stage, and for those who are not familiar with the topic. 

It did present lots of useful information about our brain, and habits
that we should take to keep it healthy. Also its content is very
useful for parents, specially recent parents, that is having their
first child. With the book they can learn some attitudes that can
improve their children's childhood and future life.

I considered this one of the best things in the book. I, personally,
will certainly create some habits based on this book, in order to
provide the best for my kids - when I decide to have one. Habits that
will keep them away from any neural corruption(thanks to this book).

The book is very useful as well for those who had problems in their
childhood, psychological problems, later progressing to a nervous
breakdown, as stated in the book. These people can find useful
information on how to carry on with their lives and how to overcome
these traumas.

Manlei Santos


Back.

Home.

Top.

COPYRIGHT (C) BRAINMEMORYMAPS.COM LTD 22Nd October 2016. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.